On This Day – August 24, 2006 – Pluto is no longer a planet.

May 24, 2023

Table Of Contents

On August 24, 2006, Pluto was excluded from the list of planets of the solar system and classified as a dwarf planet. Poor little Pluto – don’t worry – you might be downgraded, but we won’t forget you!

In the solar system, there are now only 8 planets – Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Pluto was downgraded to a “dwarf planet” because it does not meet all of the criteria for being a planet.

Despite being downgraded, Pluto is still an interesting and important object in our solar system. It is the largest known dwarf planet and is also one of the most distant objects from the sun. It is thought to be made mostly of ice and rock, and it has a very thin atmosphere made up of nitrogen and methane.

There are many debates about whether or not Pluto should be considered a planet. Some people think that it should be re-classified as a planet because it is so unique and special. Others believe that there are many other objects like Pluto in our solar system, so it doesn’t make sense to consider it a planet. No matter what people think, Pluto will always have a special place in our hearts.

Written by: Matt Grill

Matt Grill is the Director and Founder of BSharp Tech,  entrepreneur, software developer, digital marketer, photographer, geek, husband and father. 

Recent Blogs